Hometown Glory

20 Feb

Have you ever heard of Milton Keynes?

No? Don’t worry. I’m sure you’re not alone. But if you have heard of it I’m sure you’re now thinking about roundabouts, concrete cows, a massive shopping centre and a stolen football team. It’s also the place I was born and grew up.

But I’m pleased to say my hometown is now part of the Herts, Beds and Bucks DAB Digital Transmitting area which was officially switched on last Thursday and has allowed a whole host of community radio stations from the area to start broadcasting on DAB Digital Radio. This includes MK-based radio station MKFM, services from Global Radio and my dear ol’ friends at BBC Three Counties.

For MKFM in particular the move onto DAB Digital Radio is just the start of their upcoming plans to apply and hopefully secure a community FM license. Ofcom will not be accepting submissions for the Milton Keynes area until early 2014, and with this in mind MKFM programme Director Chris Gregg said that the station ‘will be continuing to campaign for a local FM license… However, DAB Digital Radio brings the opportunity to provide a true local service up to 18 months earlier than FM’.

Almost a year ago I helped my University’s student-led radio station in the final stages of its move onto a community FM license. As someone who has successfully been through the process I can see that MKFM are aiming high, and I support their ambition and determination. It is a long and at times very difficult and challenging process, but the rewards are worth it.

From my experience one of the most exciting parts of moving onto a community FM license is the development in programming. Your audience increases and so you’re pushed to create more exciting, more thought-provoking content that can interest this ever-expanding listenership. I hope this will give the station an opportunity to reach out further to the local area. As someone who spent a somewhat uninspired youth in Milton Keynes – there was little more to do than go to the shops (again), hang out in one of the specially built man-made parks, or dream of the days you could escape to somewhere slightly more interesting – I really hope MKFM use this ambition to draw more people in, especially young adults and teenagers.

I will certainly be following the developments closely and tuning in to some of the new (local) DAB Digital Stations.

Leave a comment